top of page

Plein Air Painting at Hurricane Ridge

We drove up to Hurricane Ridge, located up in the Olympic Mountains, in late May. The snowpack is so terrific up there (and we had one heck of a rainy/snowy winter) that even in May, when the temperature hovered right around 80 degrees, the snow drifts were taller than a person. Granted, some serious snow blowers created some of those snow stacks, but still. A winter wonderland in warm May was pretty cool.

Hurricane Ridge has amazing views, which is why folks drive the winding roads to it, and it also caters to snowshoers, skiers, and hikers. We didn't do any of those things--I set up my easel in the parking lot and got right into painting.

For those of you who have never heard of the term, plein air painting is basically when you lug your painting equipment out to an outdoorsy spot, set up, and begin painting what you see. It's a quick, on-the-spot capture of a certain place. And it is tough to do because while you're painting, the light keeps changing, clouds keep moving, and shadows keep shifting. And, if you're using acrylic paints like I was, the paint keeps drying, faster than you want it to.

I choose to paint in acrylics because I don't have to worry about slow-drying oils smudging as I cart the fresh painting back home, but I'm thinking next time I might try oils. You just have to be uber-careful when you transport wet oil paintings, and I am not the uber-carefulest of people.

Anyway, here is my plein air painting of Hurricane Ridge. I got a fantastic sunburn on my arms which, two weeks later, is still itchy, but I like how the painting came out. The trees were a little dark in it. But, the feeling is there for the place. Enjoy!!

bottom of page